Academic Calendar 2020

Academic Calendar 2020

This calendar shows you the special days in Ireland, and the dates of your weekly class tests. Do you have a special day that you would like us to include in our calendar? Please email and let us know.

If you have any questions about the days when the school will be closed, please contact us on info@dcedu.ieand we will be happy to help you.

If there are significant changes to the calendar, we will inform you by email.

Events

Dates

January 2020
School Reopens Monday 6th  January
Weekly Test Thursday 9th January or Friday 10th January
Weekly Test Thursday 16th January or Friday 17th January
Weekly Test

 

Chinese New Year

Thursday 23rd  January or Friday 24th January

Saturday 25th    

Weekly Test Thursday 23th January or Friday 24th January
Weekly Test Thursday 30th   January or Friday 31st February
February 2020
Imbolc/First Day  of Spring Monday 1rd February
Weekly Test Thursday 6th February or Friday 7th
Weekly Test Thursday 13th February or Friday 14th
Valentine’s Day Friday 14th February
Weekly Test Thursday 20th February or Friday 21st February
President ‘s Day Monday 17th February
 Carnival: Saturday 22nd  February
Weekly Test Thursday 27th  or Friday 28th February
March 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 5th March or Friday 6th March
Women’ s Day Sunday 8th March
Weekly Test  Thursday 12th March or Friday 13th March
Weekly Test Thursday 20th March or Friday 21st March
St. Patrick’ s Day-Bank Holiday Tuesday 17th March
Weekly Test Thursday 26th March or Friday 27th March
Mother’s Day Sunday 22nd March
April 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 2nd April or Friday 3rd April
Good Friday – School CLOSED! Friday 10th April 
Easter Monday – School CLOSED! Monday 13th April
Weekly Test Thursday 16th April or Friday 17th April
Earth Day Wednesday 22nd April
Weekly Test Thursday 23rd April or Friday 24th April
Bealtaine Eve: Summer starts to arrive! Thursday 30th April
May 2020
International Workers’ Day- Bank Holiday  School Closed! Monday 4th May
Weekly Test Thursday 7th May or Friday 8th May
Weekly Test Thursday 14th May or Friday 15th May
Weekly Test Thursday 21st May or Friday 22nd May
Ramadan Begins Sunday  24th May 
Weekly Test Thursday 28th May or Friday 29th May
World No-Tobacco Day Sunday 31st May
June 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 4th June or Friday 5th June
June Bank-Holiday School Closed! Monday 1st June
Weekly Test  Thursday 11th June or Friday 12th June
Russian National Day  Friday 12th June
Summer Solstice Saturday 20th June
Weekly Test
Thursday 18th June or Friday 19th June
Weekly Test Thursday 25th June or Friday 26th June
July 2020
USA Independence Day Saturday  4th July
Weekly Test Thursday 2nd July or Friday 3nd July
Weekly Test Thursday 9th July or Friday 10th July
Turkish National Unity Day Wednesday 15th July
Weekly Test Thursday 16th July or Friday 17th July
Weekly Test

 

Weekly Test

International Friend Day & Eid al Adha

Thursday 23rd July or Friday 24th July

Thursday  30th July or Friday 31st July

Thursday 30th

August 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 6th August or Friday 7th August
August Bank Holiday – School CLOSED! Monday 3rd August
Weekly Test Thursday 13th August or Friday 14th August
Weekly Test Thursday 20th August or Friday 21st August
Weekly Test Thursday 27th August or Friday 28th August
Lughnasadh Festival Monday 31st August
September 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 3rd September or Friday 4th September
Brazilian Independence Day: Monday 7th September
Weekly Test Thursday 10th September or Friday 11th September
Mexican Independence Day Wednesday 16th September
Weekly Test Thursday 17th September or Friday 18th September
Weekly Test Thursday 24th September or Friday 25th September
Weekly Test

 

Dublin Culture Night

Thursday 26th September or Friday 27th September

Friday 11th September

October 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 1st October or Friday 2nd October
Chinese National Day Thursday 10th October or Friday 11th October
Weekly Test Thursday 1st October
Columbus Day [USA] Monday 12th October
Weekly Test Thursday 8th October or Friday 9th October
World Mental Health Day Saturday 10th October
Weekly Test

Weekly Test

 

 

October Bank Holiday

Weekly Test

 

Hallowe’ en

Thursday 15th October or Friday 16th October

Thursday 22nd October or Friday 23rd October

 

Monday 26th October 

Thursday 29th October or Friday 30th October

Saturday 31st October

November 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 5th November or Friday 6th November
Weekly Test Thursday 12th November or Friday 13th November
Weekly Test Thursday 14th November or Friday 15th November
Veteran’ s Day [USA] Wednesday 11th November
Weekly Test Thursday 19th November or Friday 20th November
American Thanksgiving Day Thursday 26th November
Weekly Test Thursday 26th November or Friday 27th November
December 2020
Weekly Test Thursday 3rd December or Friday 4th December
Weekly Test Thursday 10th December or Friday 11th December
Weekly Test Thursday 17th December or Friday 18th December
Last Day of School: Christmas Events Friday 18th December
Christmas Holidays: School CLOSED! Monday 21st December – Friday 3rd January
Winter Solstice Monday 21st  December
Christmas Day Friday 25th December
Boxing Day/Stephen’s Day Saturday 26th December
New Year’s Eve  Thursday 31st January
School Reopens Monday 4th January